KU Stationery

Business stationery is the most frequent use of the KU identity and each piece -- letterhead, envelopes, and business cards -- visibly solidifies the university brand by uniformly using the official university and unit signatures. The stationery system shows that each campus, college, school, or department respects its role within the university.

Departments are required to use the stationery of their parent office with their unit name either at the bottom in the footer and/or directly underneath the KU signature. More about unit signatures

There are three types of stationery available to units:

  • Standard: Most units will use this format with the university name in the primacy area of the signature. [ Link to glossary for "primacy area"- or mouseover]
  • Unit Primacy: This format allows eligible units to place their unit names in the primacy area of the unit signature that appears at the top of stationery. This applies exclusively to pre-approved units that have greater interaction with the general pubic, such as museums, theaters, training centers, and centers for public programming.
  • Jayhawk Primacy: Use of this format, which replaces the KU logo with a four-color Jayhawk, is limited to the Office of Admissions and Scholarships, KU Alumni Association and KU Athletics.

For business cards, employees have the option of selecting either the KU logo or a four-color Jayhawk on their business cards. All cards use the standard signature with the university name in the primacy area.

To see samples of these formats, click the tabs above.

Printed and electronic stationery is available through a designated vendor. Go to www.identity.ku.edu/order/ or click the "order" tab for more information.

Stationery is printed with either the two-color KU signature, using KU blue (PMS 293) and KU gray (PMS 430), or with the three-color Jayhawk, using KU blue (PMS 293), crimson (PMS 186), and yellow (PMS 116), plus KU gray (PMS 430) as a fourth color.

Learn more in our Frequently Asked Questions

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).